Focusing on the Dross

“Take away the dross from the silver, and there shall come forth a vessel for the finer.” ~Proverbs 25:4

It is so easy to get discouraged in my walk with the Lord because I tend to look at all the impurities that are still in me. The ways that I fall (yet again), yield to temptation or fail to be a witness or testimony when I focusing-on-the-drosshave the opportunity to do so. I get to the point where I feel like I am not growing in my relationship with the Lord and feel stuck.

God knows exactly how I feel though, and there are also times like this morning when I read a verse, and it jumps off the page and hits me square in the face.

Silver is beautiful, even impure silver is beautiful, and as the dross and imperfections are gradually worked out, it becomes even more beautiful and shines of its crafter’s loving touch and wise workmanship.

Focusing on the dross and impurities of my life while God is still working on me is like someone who has no idea of a craft criticizing a crafter long before His work is finished. There is a reason He commands us to “(forget) those things which are behind and (reach) forth unto those things which are before,” (Philippians 3:13). The longer I focus on the impurities and failings of my life, the harder I make it for myself to look forward to the finished work I know God will accomplish in my life.

If I were instead to look at the finished product God promises to make me through His word, I would then be able to see the beauty of today, even among its dross and impurities, and live a life of hope and joyful anticipation of the completed work to come.

Leave a Reply

